Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums General Chit-Chat Job Interviews Are Scary

Donator — she/her Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/10/19 18:03:19 )

No matter how much I prepare for an interview, I never actually feel prepared.

I worked as an orthodontist assistant and a barista for about 3 months, but I left the orthodontist office back in August. Since then I've been applying and interviewing for other jobs, and the anxiety that comes with preparing for the interviews is insane.

The uncertainty, not knowing what to expect, fear of saying the wrong thing or fumbling over my words, etc, is so nerve wracking. But I manage to make it through somehow.

And again, no matter how much I prepare -- whether it's by researching the companies, practicing in the mirror or to my stuffed animals, reviewing interview questions I find online, etc -- I never feel prepared and almost always end up messing up. ==; Maybe I'm trying too hard and should let things flow more naturally?

How are you with job interviews? Any recent interviews?

Donator — she/her Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/10/19 18:11:05 )

Over the past year my anxiety with interviews has increased due to my lack of success in pursing the dental field.

(While I did manage to get hired at the ortho office, it did take 6 months and about 49 previous rejections before I got hired. Even then, my experience at the office was so crappy that it added to my anxiety even more. I left because mentally I could no longer take it).

My experience with interviewing and the amount of rejections I've faced have been so mentally taxing that I'm back in counseling again. The mental exhaustion and burnout has lead me to start applying for positions in other fields.

❀❀❀❀

Check out my shop! Currently selling Winter '21 Plasma Orb Items and more.

Donator — PomePome Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/10/19 18:22:09 )
Yeah they are... I always put my mask on if i do one
~Pls Ping me~
Nothing fancy to see here!!!