Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums Serious Talk The DRAFT (US)

Donator Posted 4 years ago ( 2020/01/4 05:34:03 )
The Draft or Selective Service System is something that hasn't been enacted since the 70's, but 18 year old males in the U.S. still have to sign up- just in case

That totally blew my mind!
maybe I've been living under a rock

When I think of the Draft in the U.S., I think of something that was a long, long time ago and all of the stories of people either being excited or trying to run from it.

My husband is 30 and he showed me his card as proof of his registration. I asked him how he knew he was supposed to sign up and he can't remember- He just said "you have to.. we all did."

I think back to all of my male classmates that I graduated with and they all had to sign up too, but I had no idea. They didn't talk about it. How did they know they had to do it? WHERE did they go to do it?

My husband spoke about it as if it were completely normal, but this requirement for 18 year olds happened right under my nose and I had no idea that my male counterparts were signing up. link to who has to register

My next questions were- how do they make men sign up? what's forcing them to do so?

I did some research and it turns out that young men would be ineligible for fafsa, grants and other aid for college if they weren't signed up and could be potentially fined up to $250,000/Prison time.

Here is the official site
Beware- it loaded extreeeeeeeeemely slow for me and pages failed multiple times before they would open.

US Volties- Did you guys know about all of this?
US Male Volties in particular- How did you know you had to register? Who told you? Where did you do it?

Other Volties- What are the laws in your country?
Please ping! I get distracted easily.

Donator — She/Her Posted 4 years ago ( 2020/01/4 08:44:04 )