Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums Games I freaking love Dungeons and Dragons!

Donator — sheep Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/11/4 18:40:48 )
Does anyone else play? I've been playing for about four years now. Honestly, my group of friend's biggest achievement is being able to meet every single Thursday to play for about four hours. It's such a wonder how we were able to coordinate six people's schedules so well.

The current campaign I am in is set in the world of the Fable games and I guess loosely follows the plot lines of the game (I've never played Fable so it's all new to me). My character is a 51 year old human fighter, named Taras Caldwell. He uses the samurai fighting style and has a bit of a tragic story. Sixteen years ago his wife died in childbirth and they lost the child. During the course of the campaign the dungeon master killed off Taras's living son. Taras has a bit of a drinking problem due to his loneliness and sadness about the fate of his family, and often after quests will drink until he passes out drunk. He also has a habit of indiscriminately kicking every treasure chest the party comes across. He tends to act as the team dad because all of his party members are much younger than he is.

Do you guys play D&D? Share your favorite characters and any great stories you have from your campaigns!

Voltie — HIM Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/11/4 20:05:47 )
I play with some people I met online.
They were just a group of random people at first, but I'd consider them friends now.
We've been playing together about 7-8 months now I think.

I'd dabbled with different forms of DnD before that, but this is the first group I've been in that I could actually call "playing DnD"
We play 5th Edition, and I highly recommend it for newbies. Much simpler to get into.