Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums General Chit-Chat My superhero (villain?) name is "The Retirer"

Donator Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/03/23 03:00:07 )
I have been teaching for 4 years.
Through those 4 years, I've had 3 different partners retire.
I am younger, so my admin does usually put me with older people to balance things out I guess.
I am very energetic and teach in a newer style while my partners are usually more traditional, sit down and shut up types. So, it really is a pretty decent balance.
BUT it really wears you down when you get a new partner every year and they just retire.

Need to get rid of someone? Make them my partner!

Donator — Voltie Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/03/23 04:26:39 )
I was just thinking that you were the best superhero ever. But. That... kinda sucks. :(
Gotta find somebody, young, traditional and stiff. lol

What kind of teaching do you do that needs a partner??

Donator Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/03/23 04:38:14 )
@eruca: XDD I teach elementary Math and Science and my partner(s) teach Reading, Writing, and Social Studies. We share 2 sets of classes. I have one group in the morning while she has the other and then we swap.

Donator — Voltie Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/03/23 04:45:52 )
@Mousy: Oooh, I see! Make math and science cool for them! Still a superhero!
Is it just hard to find new elementary school teachers? I heard that new teacher numbers are dropping.

Donator Posted 6 years ago ( 2018/03/23 05:06:31 )
@eruca: I try my best! My students and I have a lot of fun! I make as many things interactive as I can.
There are more people retiring than going into the teaching field, but I don't think our area has struggled to find teachers. Other places have definitely, but I work for a large district that has very competitive pay. I moved 4 hours away for this job and I'm making 15k more than I was previously doing the same work. Schools with less competitive pay do struggle with hiring though.