Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums Serious Talk So, I don't really know how to grocery shop

Donator — They/Them Posted 6 years ago ( 2017/11/14 05:52:18 )
It's extra embarrassing because I used to be a chef. I can cook basically anything with a basic how-to guide or even figure it out as I go, but when it comes to actually shopping for myself, planning dinner and meals ... I got nothing. When everything is a possibility, I kinda freeze up and can't think of anything. I NEED GUIDELINES!

... I also am used to cooking in a kitchen with tons of spices and essentials, so having none of those makes it one step harder. Currently I have access to a kitchen, but I'm just renting a room in the house so I hate to impose and use more of their stuff than I need to...

Basically, uh. WHAT DO I BUY.

I've got a grocery list for this week:

potatoes
rice
pasta noodles + jar o' sauce
tuna (for casseroles)
cheese - slices and shredded
sliced lunch meat
tortillas
lettuce, onion

My main issue is that this is for me, just me. I can't get through most perishable things without them going back so I tend to fall back on easy microwavable things instead.

ANYWAYS YEAH UH any advice is cool and stuff. I appreciate help or ideas for easy recipes and stuff, too!
pls ping me, ty!!

TURN OFF THE SUN // PULL THE STARS FROM THE SKY

quest | etc

Voltie — Burnt Posted 6 years ago ( 2017/11/14 08:30:01 )