Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums Serious Talk I need to write this out before I explode...

Donator — Trash Posted 7 years ago ( 2017/10/10 05:34:31 )
I'm Sasha. I make art, stories, and bad decisions.

I graduated with a 2.7 GPA in a field of study that I don't like. I work a pretty cushy corporate job for a business that gives me no sense of pride or satisfaction and doesn't require the degree that I'm in debt for (or a degree period, for that matter). I feel like my life is just ticking away and that I'm selling my soul by the hour for a meager paycheck.

I want to change that.

I love writing. I love drawing. I have since the 4th grade. I need to create or else I might just scream.

But I'm scared.

I'm scared that I won't be able to finish anything. I'm scared that I won't have enough money to live. I'm scared that if I try to live my dream of being a writer and an artist and find out it's not all it's cracked up to be, that I will have lost my dream- and part of myself along the way.

I'm scared that I won't go through with it at all. That I'll keep working my dead end job that I hate and die before I can ever pay off my worthless degree that I didn't want.

I'm stuck in a spiral of self-hatred and pipe dreams and fear, watching days of my life fall away.

...And I really need a fucking therapist.

Donator — They/Them Posted 7 years ago ( 2017/10/10 10:35:56 )
I think you and I have a lot in common. I graduated with an art degree and as a result I have a pretty lackluster office job - but climbing the ranks! - and it's definitely not fulfilling.

The one piece of advice everybody gives me, though? Just DO IT.

MAKE STUFF.

Let's make stuff, both of us?

Voltie — she/her Posted 7 years ago ( 2017/10/10 10:45:01 )