Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums General Chit-Chat On the board for promotion again

Voltie — she/her Posted 2 years ago ( 2022/06/5 15:35:14 )

At my job. I'm so nervous!

The way it works, when you promote in my company, you move to another location to do so. Its really rare to promote within the same location. So for as long as I stay at my current location, I always remain a "Manager Trainee". But the company frowns deeply upon those who wont promote.
I have already been nagged at for rejecting an offer to promote to the MIDDLE of friggin Austin, a place where I could never hope to drive in. But if I say "I'm a weak driver I can't do that" I'll become a useless item to the company, and the lowest of priority. Not a good place to be so I had to find a graceful way to slip out of that one. I managed to "redeem" myself by throwing my name in the hat for the next promotion that appeared, but I was rejected for that because I got a low secret shopper score at the time (lol). This was a relief because it gave me a reason to lay low and catch up on personal things outside of work, before considering moving again. I was "allowed" to not respond to available opportunities in the company for a while (they appear in emails to us). This gave me the time I needed to adjust and catch up on personal life stuff, but also to ignore locations that I wouldn't want to be in like those in more dangerous areas.

Anyway, I don't hate this concept of moving to promote in the sense that I'm never entirely "stuck" in an area. There are a lot of "dead end" cities I'd end up in otherwise Lol