Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums General Chit-Chat I did it! - Applied to an online University - Part 1

Donator — She/her Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/07/8 17:29:18 )

I've been thinking about going back to school for a while. It's been 8 years since I was a full-time student. I got my AA degree and then did two years in England, but it wasn't enough for a BA.
I tried to go back in 2018 while also working and then I also was looking to buy a house then, and it was just too much to juggle. I quit after a year. (Plus my major wasn't right for me)

This time around I'm doing Business Admin Management. Which sounds like a boring degree, but it's what I've been doing in the real world. Various office worker type jobs and I always felt like maybe I should get the piece of paper from school, and maybe I should just use my experience to get a job.

Then I moved to DC and this region cares a lot more that you have a BA than CA does. I am motivated this time and I'm currently not working so I can focus on my studies! It is an accredited University and it's all online. I think online school at my own pace will be better for me this time around. I'm hoping that I can finish in one year after they apply my AA credits. If not I'll just aim to finish it when I do.

I applied for the Uni today and now I need to send the school my transcripts (which I already emailed my old school about) and also apply for the FAFSA. I don't think that I will get anything, but it will allow me to apply for scholarships.

July 12th Update: My old college got back to me today. I filled out the form for my transcripts. They said it could take 5 business days + 2 weeks. I hope not. I hope they will just send them electronically. I don't want to wait to find out how many classes will get accepted.

Donator Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/07/8 17:54:58 )

Total this is great news! I'm so happy for you! Good luck, I know you're going to do awesome!
@Totalanimefan: