Already a Voltie? Sign in!

Escape to Voltra!

Join for free

Forums Hangouts Language Learning Lounge

Donator — She/her Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/02/6 00:06:13 )

@Goblin: Man I wish I could do that with Japanese. Just learn it early so it was easier to absorb. Kids brains are good like that.
Also destroying the language for memes is acceptable lol

Donator — She/her Posted 3 years ago ( 2021/02/6 01:11:40 )

@Goblin: Yeah kids just learn everything so quickly. It's pretty amazing.
I studied Japanese at University for two years it was my major (and then I dropped out but not because of Japanese). I wish that I was better at remembering all the grammar that I learned. I'm a very auditory learner so I have to hear it a bunch of times before I can remember it well and no one else in my class was like that. They would remember the grammar like it was a math equation and I just don't learn that way. Because it was at the University level the teachers didn't really repeat things over and over, they said it once and then had the class try to say it. Which is good still when you are only meeting in person like 4 hours a week, it was just hard.
Now the grammar that I got down, I will probably never forget, but sometimes I forget how to say things. I guess that's normal for any language.
My Kanji could use some work. I probably know like 300-400 but you need like 600+ to be able to read the newspaper. Japanese kids can't read the paper until they are about in middle school because of Kanji.